Tuesday, November 19, 2013

Get KuKee with Hello Kitty

 This post is part of a social shopper marketing insight campaign with Pollinate Media Group™ and KuKee, but all my opinions are my own. #pmedia #KuKeeapp  http://cmp.ly/3/8vNxcO.

It's fun having a three year old. Really fun. It's fun to converse with her, challenge her, educate her, and watch her personality unfold. From her food choices to her clothing choices, it's amazing to see what she likes versus what she doesn't like. We try to encourage as much independence as possible. As much as a three year old can have at this point in time

We give her choices for what she'd like to eat,what she'd like to do as well as what she'd like to wear. Well, when it comes to food, she's always been very vocal about what she would prefer. Banana, breakfast bar, and a bowl of cereal first thing in the morning. What she'd like to do? The first answer is always either the Children's Museum or the Zoo. Good thing we have year long passes to both. But as far as clothes go? It wasn't until recent that she started to develop a sense of style.

I cannot believe I'm talking about my baby's style. My baby who, it seems, I just gave birth to. But it's true, they turn into these little girls with big personalities. And these days? These days we are picking from leggings to jeans, from vest to cardigan, from boots to sneakers, and even debating over the color of the hairbow to be worn. It must match she says. Although I don't really think she has yet grasped the concept of matching. 

I like it though. I like when she decides what she wants to wear and watching her choose.  

Her favorites lately have been layers, and throwing random things together. Leggings with a skirt, shirt with a vest. A scarf to add dimension. And of course paired with her favorite pair of sunnies. Not to mention cheetah boots.

We headed off to Macy's the other day to pick up a Hello Kitty outfit of her choice. I have to say, the options were endless, which resulted in a toddler that just wanted it all. I don't blame her, I would too if they came in my size. She finally settled for the bright pink skirt and the grey jacket to pair with it. And mama over here was on cloud 9 because Macy's had a big 50% off sale, so I scored everything for half off. Deals are my thing, so if you are wanting to pick up some Hello Kitty Let's play items for your little ones---do so now, or don't forget there will be big Cyber Monday and Black Friday deals going on.

When we got home, I told Elliana that she gets to do a little scavenger hunt with her clothes. This was a foreign term to my little girl, so I had to go a little more in depth and show her exactly what I was talking about. I had downloaded the KuKee app the night before just so I would be prepared for this. I showed her how to hold the phone and then scan the little marker and her excitement was quite hilarious when the app opened up, and she saw her little face next to KuKeeeeeeeee {as she calls it}. The picture taking was pretty much what consumed the next 20 minutes of our lives.

Then, it got even better when I showed her that she could take a picture of her Hello Kitty on her jacket. We did that

Want to know how this app works? Look at the image below. There are 4 simple steps
1. Download the app on your apple or android phone.
2. Find the Hello Kitty dress up icon marker, like the one I showed you above {see that little yellow round sticker attached to the instructions? That's the marker}.
3. Aim at the marker to launch.
4. Let's Play unlocks all the fun!
5. Be sure to share with your friends by using the hashtag #mykukee
JACKET- Hello Kitty | SKIRT- Hello Kitty

Check out the KuKee pinterest board to get more great ideas.

So not only are the clothes cute, but your child gets to have a little fun with it too. It's also a great opportunity for parents to interact with their kids, and a great gift option for the holidays to come.

What are you waiting for... go get KuKee with your little girls!

You can find KuKee on Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Saturday, November 16, 2013

How we #GetItDone

This is a sponsored post on behalf of One2One Network. All opinions stated are my own

When I was talking to Andrew the other day about my own blogging and what I do on this little space of mind, I was quickly reminded of how the internet and technology world has impacted the career force. I simply cannot think of a single job profession out there that is not influenced by technology in some sort of way. Because that's just the truth of the matter; it's all around us. And I did not start thinking about it as in depth until the conversation began.

The thing about our "jobs" is that we have many different roles in life. Aside from the typical 9-5 desk job, we continue to have responsibilities, commitments, and deadlines for ourselves outside of work. Whether that be with our family, our friends, or even our internet jobs, such as blogging, there is always an appointment to pencil in, a deadline to meet, and projects to complete. Always. That's why modern technology is important. To make us more efficient than ever before. Not like the past where our calendars hung on the fridge, our chores charts were scribbled messily on paper, and the bills were written down one by one each month to remind us of the due dates. Now we have technology to speed things along. Not to mention-make things look better.

For me, what is most important is that my husband and I are always on the same page when it comes to our schedules. And that's where technology comes into the picture. His work schedule is pretty predictable {9-5 Monday-Friday} and mine is all over the place {3 twelve hour night shifts a week}. As the years go by, our schedules only seem to get busier and I love the flexibility of filling out our committments from anywhere and anytime through Microsoft Outlook. All of our individual schedules are color coded so we know who has what and when. And my husband no longer has to call me at work to find out what my schedule is, he can login himself and have access to it and make changes to meet his own personal needs. Better yet, I love the fact that I have the ability to access Office through our iPhones {you can also access through Android, Windows phone, and Ipads}.

It is amazing where we have come as society in regards to technology. It is amazing to think that this may just be the beggining. As a result, life has become simpler, a little more organized, and lot more efficient.
For me, because of technology, I've been thinking about going down to 2 days a week at my job, and shifting my focus more to my passion behind my writing. Will this effect me financially? Sure. But the flexible schedule sounds perfect right about now.

As Andrew and I were getting ready for bed, we talked further about where blogging will take me, where I plan to go from here, and how I plan to incorporate it more into my life. I don't know all the answers, and I'm not sure I will know the answer, but for now I am grateful for the technology that we have, for an organized schedule, and for a more efficient means of communication.

Be sure to go enter the #GetItDone contest on Facebook and tell Microsoft how you #GetItDone. By doing so, you can have the chance to win an all-expenses-paid trip of a lifetime. You can enter now through November 21st. 

Enter below to win a one-year subscription (US $99.99 value) of Office 365 Home Premium.

This includes: Word, Excel, Powerpoint, Outlook, OneNote, Publisher, and Access. You can use one license for up to five devices on either PC or Mac. With this, you will also get 20GB of SkyDrive cloud storage, 60 free Skype world calling minutes per month, future upgrades, and automatic saves to SkyDrive so you have the ability to access your personal documents from anywhere at anytime.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, November 7, 2013

Rocking it out with Kleenex. Rocking the immune system that is.

This post is part of a social shopper marketing insight campaign with Pollinate Media Group®and Kleenex but all my opinions are my own. #KleenexAllergy #pmedia http://cmp.ly/3/8vNxcO. "
Every year, we are faced with the same plague that hits right around this time of season. I call it a plague, but there is also another fancy name for it...allergies. Weather changes. Climate changes. Temperature changes. And the seasonal allergies hit. It seems as though for a good solid two months we are stuck battling the sneezing and runny noses.  We do okay. We figure it out, and we sure go through a lot of Kleenex along the way, but it beats a situation where we are all out cold moping on the couch complaining about not feeling well. Let me tell you about how that goes down.

Last week, I sent a text to my husband:

"Andrew, little miss got her first real sickness. She's hacking, her nose is running, and her poor eyes look sad."
We proceeded to talk back and forth about feeling bad for her, making her some of my famous homemade chicken noodle soup, and letting her snuggle up on the couch and watch cartoons all day.
I then ended the conversation by mistakenly telling my husband:
"Good thing I don't have to worry about catching the cold from her, because my immune system rocks!" He laughed, although knowing that it is {for the most part} true, he reminded me that now I was doomed to get it. I assured him that was not a possibility. Remember, "rocking" immune system. And then I ate my words...Because apparantely, it was in the cards for me. And not only did I catch the sickness, but I was out cold for two days, off work, on the couch, and feeling like a truck ran over me. Backed up, and then ran over me again, and again, and again. My nose was stuffed, I went through a box of Kleenex, and my body ached from head to toe. And of course, as soon as I get better, my poor little baby catches it too. Which means more loving from this mama. So by day 3, my daughter and I both had it and were recovered, and my son was beginning the course of the illiness. The only person that was left unwounded was my husband, and I knew for sure that he was the last person I wanted to get sick. Because let me tell you something; when he gets sick... it's the end of the world. Why is that men are that way?
We were doing fine there by day 4-5. I truly thought that my husband was going to be spared. And then by the end of day 5, he started complaining of not feeling well, which turned into a runny nose, a new box of kleenex to be opened, and a whole lot of pouting. From all of us.
By the end of the week, we were all grateful that recovery was upon us. We were grateful that the worst thing that we had to deal with were runny noses and sore bodies. We were grateful that we got to feel better, that we had a warm bed to climb into, and that most of all, we still had each other. Although during times of sickness it's hard to think of situations that are worse, people that are suffering more than us, and illnesses that are far greater, it's important to keep those sort of things in mind. It's also what helps us to get better.

I'm reminded of how not feeling well doesn't always have to turn into something bad. That the extra snuggles from the kids {and husband}, the warm soups, the hot tea {with honey or raspberry preserve}, the piles of Kleenex on my night stand, and the amount of on-demand that is watched is good for the soul. Good to sit back and appreciate the "nothings" in life. To throw tissues on the ground. To wear the same clothes for 48 hours. To eat chocolate for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. And to just not care about what is going on in the outside world. Briefly.

The thing about seasonal allergies is that they always have a way to creep back up on us. So does the typical cold. It's like the two are following each other around. So we try to be more prepared when that time comes. Because a the end of the day, there just is no way to get away from the environment and the triggers of our allergies. We'll continue to sneeze. We'll continue to have runny noses. We'll continue to have watery eyes. That we know for sure. Therefore, finding a product that you can trust for your allergy needs is what is most important for us.

And if you're anything like us, where when one has a household of battling allergies and sickness, then you'll need to invest in a few boxes of Kleenexes to stock up for allergy and cold season. Better yet, grab this coupon to use at Target and you can get a free wallet pack or pocket pack when you buy a 4 pack { Buy Kleenex 4pack, get free wallet pack (2-pk) or pocket pack (3-pk): http://goo.gl/186og3 } *while supplies last
Now, I'm off to go sanitize the whole house. I'm determined to keep this immune system rocking.

Monday, October 28, 2013

Halloween Costume on a Budget using Cottonelle Triple Roll

"This post is part of a social shopper marketing insight campaign with Pollinate Media Group and Cottonelle, but all my opinions are my own. #pmedia #CottonelleTarge #ad http://cmp.ly/3/8vNxcO. "

Growing up, one of the holidays that I looked forward to the most as a kid was Halloween. Me and every other child out there. Choosing costumes was always the most difficult part though since my family was on a very strict budget and simply could not afford to buy every child a new costume for every year. Understandly so. That is why one had to turn to creativity. Something that I was never born with.

So here is how the costumes went; Wear all black, draw whiskers, and pin a tail on your back and you have yourself a cat. For free. Wear all white, make a paper halo, and maneuver it in a way to stick above your head, and you have yourself an angel. For free. Tape leaves all over your body, and paint your face green, and you have yourself a tree. For free. The ideas are endless, and it just goes to show you that you don't necessarily have to spend a lot, to get a lot. I mean, after all, I think the most important thing out of all this is the candy in the basket. Right?

A character that I never got to be for halloween though was a mummy. The great thing about being a mummy is that it requires one of the most used household items, toilet paper, and a little bit of tape. That easy.

I know that transforming oneself into a mummy may seem like an easy task, however, I wanted to make sure that we did it right. That is why I spent a good hour on the internet trying to scope out all the various tips in being the perfect mummy. I am amazed at how many tutorials are actually out there. And to think, I actually thought it was as simple as gathering my Cottonelle Triple Roll and tape.

It is. Except, there is an art to it. So I discovered.

1. Start at the bottom of one leg, and work your way up.
2. As you meet a break, where one bone ends and another begins, tape off and start again.
3. Be a little more loose at the chest/arm area, as you want the ability to move. We learned about this quickly when Elli started to raise her arms up.
4. Wear something nude underneath {for the real deal}.
5. Do a double layer, or triple layer, to perfect the look.
6. Buy the Cottonelle Triple Roll as it will stand a chance with a very active toddler. Thick, durable, and as my daughter said..."Mommy, this is soft." 

At the end, it took us approximately 20 minutes to turn our little girl into a scary little mummy. With a hair bow on top, mind you. One roll {would take 2-3 for the big day to last through a trick-or-treating evening}, and she loved it. She kept talking about being a mummy and was just utterly amazed.

We got some pretty good entertainment out of it. and the rest of the rolls were used for her to build pyramids, a bridge, and whatever else her curious mind came up with.

And Carson? Our dog? We decided to recruit him as the next Cottonelle Dog... he's a natural.

**Be sure to grab this coupon {while supplies last} when you go shopping at Target for a free Kleenex box with the purchase of a 12 pack Cottonelle Triple Roll or larger. Also, if you go this week, they are having a promotion for a free Cottonelle wipes and they were on sale as well! A lot of deals going on. 

Tuesday, September 17, 2013

A great cause and an even greater recipe to share with you. Strawberry Cheesecake Bites.

“This shop is part of a social shopper marketing insight campaign with Pollinate Media Group™ and Project 7 but all my opinions are my own. #pmedia #chewforchange  http://cmp.ly/3/8vNxcO

One of the statements that was made by my pastor this past weekend at church talked about the value of giving. "We are put on this Earth to impact it, to change a life, and to serve those in need." He went on to talk about how important it is for us to give back, as much as we can, and to do so whole-heartedly. That we need not be rich, successful, or efluential to make an impact. You don't have to be rich, successful, or efluential. Those words really impacted me.

I had to think about this.

You see, you don't have to be religious, go to church, or even believe in a higher power to be impacted by such words. You just have to believe that there is a need for good, that there is a need for help and healing, and there is a need for giving. Yes, I believe that, but often times I find myself wondering what exactly I could do to give back. How I could impact someone's life or change a little piece of the world. I'm quick to judge myself. Criticize. And bring down. Will this little amount do anything? What do I have that I can give? What areas are more important than others? Do I really make a difference?

Yes the little things count. You have more than you think to give. All areas are important, and there is never a surplus of giving. And every act of giving makes a difference.

I found that I was the person that would take the easy road of giving. Yes, I will donate a dollar at every cash register that requests it. Yes, I will donate money when a life is dramatically changed and a fundraiser has been brought to my attention. Yes, if you want me to write a check, I'll do it. Those things are easy to me. Click of a button. Writing of a check. Done. That should make me feel good...right?

Except, it doesn't.

Sometimes, it's not about the amount of money or money at all that is of importance. Sometimes, it's giving more of our heart and our hands that will make the bigger impact and difference. And it takes a little reminder at times that we need to do a little more. Donate our time, our skills, and our resources in order to help others.

Project 7 is one that has a great message behind it. I love the simplicity of their message. Yet, it speaks volumes. "Projects of Good. We exist to do good around the globe. For every purchase of a Project 7 product, good is done in seven areas of need Feed the Hungry, Heal the Sick, Hope for Peace, House the Homeless, Quench the Thirsty, Teach them Well and Save the Earth."

Feed, Heal, Hope, House, Quench, Teach, and Save. Seven words that define the meaning of giving. Giving back our lives to our community.

One of the components of Project 7 is making products for the greater good. Some of these products include water, coffee, mints, and gum. When I went to pick up my ingredients for my giving back recipe at Meijer, I picked up my first {of 10} packs of Project 7 gum, specifically the FEED the hungry and SAVE the Earth packs. I made sure to leave one for the cashier, one for myself, and one for the librarians. The others we plan to disperse throughout the week with a little message attached to them.   Although these acts may be small, and although they may not initially hold meaning to the recipients, there is a much bigger picture behind the message. To give what we can, when we can. It's a message that I needed to hear for myself, and I believe others are in need of hearing. A little reminder. 

Giving back does not have to be an overwhelming cloud over my head. It should never be forced, and it should always come from the heart. It is neither about the amount of money or size of your giving. Even the smallest moments of giving can have some of the largest of impacts. Even as simple as gong to buy Project 7 products at places you regularly shop {click here to find out where products sold}.

Project 7 WEBSITE | Project 7 Facebook | Project 7 Twitter

I decided that I wanted to make something for our local library. It's a place that we visit at least once a week. A place where we get to experience story time, crafts, and interaction with other little kids. A place that my daughter has attended since she was 18 months old, and one where we have seen the biggest amount of growth in. I am thankful for our library and all that it does for our youth. They always welcome us with the biggest smiles on their faces, stimulate the brains' of our little ones, and make each and every activity inviting and fun for all. Their hard work is much appreciated, and I feel as though our "thank yous" alone just don't truly express our gratitude. And because my daughter enjoys it so much, I thought it would be a great learning opportunity. For me to show her the importance of giving back and showing our appreciation toward others.

We have our toddler time tomorrow, goodie bags are packed, and little messages are waiting to be written. I have a feeling that my daughter may want to share a couple with her favorite librarians.

I mean, I do myself.

Strawberry Cheesecake Bites {recipe adapted from allrecipes.com}


1 block of cream cheese
1/2 cup confectioners sugar
1 package of strawberries {I bought 2}
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
Graham crackers crushed
Semisweet chocolate chips {optional}
1 teaspoon canola oil {optional}


1. Knife out the center of the strawberries in a cone shape.

2. Mix the cream cheese, sugar, and vanilla extract together until smooth. Crush the graham crackers in a bag until very fine crumbs develop.

3. Fill the center of the strawberries with the cream cheese mixture so that it overflows. Then sprinkle the graham crackers on top.

4. {optional} melt the chocolate and canola oil and either drizzle on top, or dip on the bottom of the strawberries.


They turned out amazing. So easy to do. All ingredients purchased at my local Meijer, and it is a recipe that has made it in the books. And my belly.

Sunday, September 15, 2013

Straight Talk. Make A Wish Come True.

 I participated in this sponsored campaign for One2One Network. I received monetary compensation, but all opinions stated are my own.

One of the things that I remember quite well growing up, is hearing about the Make-A-Wish foundation and all of the great stories that went along with it. I remember seeing people give back to wonderful causes to make dreams come true for so many children out there that were sick and part of a reality that no child should ever have to go through.  Yet, they're still very much children that have dreams. Dreams that others have the opportunity to make come true.

Sometimes you have to be reminded of these stories and the acts of giving to want to do something yourself. Sometimes we forget about how much we take our own lives for granted and what may be going on in someone's world gives us a new perspective on what is going on in ours. Something that makes our world and our problems seem like nothing in comparison. And therefore, further reminding us of the power helping others in every way possible.

Especially the innocent beautiful children.

Donating our time and efforts can even take us that much further in our quest to helping put a smile on a child's face. A child that has been faced with more than we could ever imagine at such a young age. And all it takes is a dream.

It's great to see companies that also donate their resources for great causes such as Make-A-Wish. Straight Talk is one of those companies that is currently running a campaign called "Give A Minute, Help Make-A-Wish."

Have you heard about it? It really is simple, and is a great way for us, you and I, to be a part of something bigger and life changing.

For every Saturday in the month of September {RIGHT NOW}, you can visit your local Wal-Mart, stop by the Straight Talk Wireless for a minute to learn more about it, and as a result, Straight Talk will donate $1 to Make-A-Wish. For each person that stops by. That means, take your husbands, your parents, your brothers and sisters, and friends!  Straight Talk plans to donate up to 1 million to Make-A-Wish and at the least will donate 500,000. That's amazing! Last year they met their 1 million goal, and let us help them meet that mark again. 

Another great way to help the cause? Share the straight talk video. And by doing so? For every person that watches {per day}, $1 will be donated to Make-A-Wish. 
Don't know what Straight Talk is? It is a cell phone carrier that reaches 300 million people, carries name brand phones such as LG and Apple, and has plans that include unlimited talk, text, and data nationwide!
But personally, I believe the best part of the company is their passion for helping our children by being a part of the Make-A-Wish foundation. And not only can you learn more about this company by visiting Wal-Mart on a Saturday, but you can also be a part of making a sick child's dream come true.
We can all be a part of a dream. And it's as simple as just taking a minute out of our day.

Monday, August 19, 2013

My Battle with Acne Scars; Clearasil New! Refreshing Superfruit Wash

“This post is part of a social shopper marketing insight campaign with Pollinate Media Group™ and Clearasil, but all my opinions are my own. #pmedia #SuperFruits  http://cmp.ly/3/8vNxcO.”

Have you ever looked at yourself in the mirror and struggled with what you saw. Have you cried at the image looking back at you, reminding you of something that will be there forever. Have you ever wished that you could change something about yourself, improve a characteristic, or make it all go away completely. I think most women around the world can attest to struggling with a physical characteristic or flaw. Whether that be too big, too small, too dark, too light, too short, too tall. For me that characteristic is something that I have to stare at day in day out. My face.

Growing up, I was that teenager that when going through puberty, I developed that inevitable, ugly acne. I'd have periods where it would get better, and periods where it would get worse. But never would it go away. I did what your mother always tells you not to do, and that is to pick at those dreaded awful little {sometimes big} red blemishes that stare at you all day. All I wanted was for them to go away. But instead of doing that, they only got worse.

Looking back, I wish so badly I would have listened to my mother. Not the only time that I have said that in my life. I remember specifically sitting in the car, driving home from school, and crying at the wheel. I had had one of the biggest breakouts and my face was tired. I was tired. And I wished so badly that I could have that flawless perfect skin that so many other girls my age were walking the halls with. It was in that moment that I realized that although I may not be able to make this go away, I better figure out a way to live with it.

A good skin regimen is, I believe, what finally got me through that time in my life. It's what helped to battle the breakouts and what minimized the severity of those breakdowns. Clearasil was a cleanser I remember specifically using. One of the few that stuck through during the trial and error phase. One of those that I could feel a difference as soon as I put it on. I was excited to be able to test out their new line of cleansers, Clearasil's NEW! Daily Clear Refreshing Superfruit Cleansers , which are made with sensorial Superfruit Extracts, mildly medicated with 1% salicylic acid acne medication, and help to prevent future blemishes from surfacing.

Are you struggling with acne? If so, my advice to you is this:

1. Don't pick! Don't don't don't do it. If you don't want to listen to your mother {like me}, then please listen to me and learn from my experience.  
2. Set up a routine, a skin regimen that you will stick with. Your skin needs as much TLC as possble. 
 3. Go to Walmart and buy the Clearasil's NEW! Daily Clear Refreshing Superfruit Cleansers and save $1.00 by using this coupon. 
Today, acne has completely gone away {with the exception of a pop up here and there}. The only thing I am left with is scars. Scars that will forever remind me of what tormented me for so long during the teenage years.  Scars that I'm sure will lead to my children asking about them.

Which then, I can get on my soap box proudly and say, "Kids... don't pick! And take care of your skin!"

We should all listen to our mothers more often.

Saturday, August 17, 2013

My Workout Gear. Work Out with Hanes.

We all know that a big component of motherhood that {many} mothers stress about is time. Time to get chores done. Time to meet everyone's needs. Time to get "me" time in. And time to just slow down. Time is never enough and always goes by too fast.

One of the things, for me, that I struggle with is finding the time to get exercise in. Something I used to be so diligent about. Something that was very important to me. Yet, something that I have let slip by and never looked back.

Three years later, two kids later, and here we are. Me tapping my pen on my the table, staring at my calendar, trying to figure out how to squeeze in a workout here and there. More importantly, how to figure out a routine, because, after all, I want to make this a habit and be successful.

So I turn to inspiration, and something that has always given me that little oomph to get my running shoes on.

My Hanes panty #Undercovercolor is:Pink
Color. Getting my color on, putting on something bright, and making me feel good. Also reminding myself that there is still weight, more importantly, extra skin, that needs to be lost {or in this case, toned}.

That is when I turn to Hanes and their variety of undergarments and bright colored tees to piece together and make working out not feel so dull and dreadful. Something about color just brightens the mood, and gets my legs moving. It builds this fire inside me and cheers me on. I've always been that way with fashion and clothes in general. When I look good, I feel good.

No different with pairing my working out gear.

On top of wanting good, the Hanes undergarments fit perfectly to the body. The form fitting stretchy material allows the undergarments to move with you through every stretch, shift, and change in position. 

And can we talk about saving money? Most important aspect of working out for me is not spending too much money to work out. That means no gym membership, little cost on equipment, and budget-friendly attire.

So now that I have my work out attire figured out, I just need to throw on my running shoes and... go. Time? I'll figure that one out along the way.

I was selected for this opportunity as a member of Clever Girls Collective and the content and opinions expressed here are all my own.

Wednesday, August 14, 2013

What Bliss Looks Like

I've had many beautiful moments in my life. Moments where I can close my eyes and recall every aspect of that memory. Whether that be just a few minutes in time, hours out of the day, or weeks that stood out to me as moments of bliss and happiness. Some of these moments can be stated as the obvious. In fact, as a parent, these moments are probably characterized similarly to those that other parents hold onto. The moment where your child is first born. Their first steps. The first time their voices called out to you

But some of the moments that I see as complete bliss are also moments that do not have a "big event" attached to them. Sure, they may be forgotten one day. May not be significant or monumental in my life. But yet they are still moments worth looking back on. Moments of bliss.

What does a moment of bliss mean to me?

1. Peace and Quiet. Something that is very rare in our home. Something that I do not always want or need, but something that is sure great to have once in a while. Most of us moms would also like to call that nap time. 

2. Sitting on the front porch. This is blissful to me. Rain or shine. There is something so calming and serene about sitting out on the front porch, taking in the fresh air, and listening to yourself think. 

3. Getting able to do what I love. Whether that be writing, or taking photos. During these quiet moments, I love nothing else but to let my thoughts run free. It's something that I cherish in my life. 

Putting all three together, sitting on the front porch, peace and quiet, and getting able to do what I love... well that is my exact definition of a blissful moment that may not be at all significant, but just as important to have every once of a while.

Stress is a big problem that people struggle with day in day out. Being a parent is no exception to that. Recently Neuro conducted a stress study surveying more than 1200 consumers which revealed that nearly 50% of those people spent at least half of their day stressed. Wow! That's big. As a nurse, I know how important eliminating stress in our lives is.

Neuro is urging Americans to join the stress reduction movement and has created the Bliss and Tell campaign, urging people to share their blissful moments. Be sure to check it out and enter the weekly contest and giveaway for a chance to win a $10K dream vacation. Now that would relieve a lot of my stress!

Lastly, another way to minimize stress and soothe the mind is through the neuroBLISS drink, containing powerful vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants! With a citrus flavor, only 35 calories per drink, and no artificial flavors or colors, you can start your day out in a more calming, blissful way.

Download the coupon above to get $1 off any neuro drink!

Because at the end of the day, who needs stress. Neuro in, stress out.

I was selected for this opportunity as a member of Clever Girls Collective and the content and opinions expressed here are all my own.

Tuesday, July 30, 2013

What Summer Time Means to Me

image credit

Tomorrow is officially the last day of July. August is literally right around the corner, and fall is creeping up on us. It seems that every year, after my birthday, I get this feeling of nostalgia. Summer has this way of lifting my spirits, brightening my day, and bringing an overall effect of happiness into my life. Every one has a favorite season, mine happens to be summer time.

Summer time means a number of things to me.

Summer time means warm weather. Sun shining. Tan skin. Temperatures reaching in the 90s.
Summer time means birthday. A celebration of life. Continuation of life. And life to come.
Summer time means family. Family activities. Family memories. Family fun.
Summer time means vacation. A time spent away from our every day lives. Yet, not. Taking our family, some of our belongings, and traveling 700 miles across the country to relaxation. If you want to call it that with kids.
Summer time means ice cream, watermelon, milkshakes, and more. More cold everything. Ice cream every day during the summer? Totally acceptable.
Summer time means flip flops and dresses. The most appropriate attire for any and every day of the week. The easiest to throw on when running late out the door. And the easiest to throw off right before climbing into bed.
Summer time means water. Lots and lots of water. Sitting by the pool. Putting our feet in the sand by the beach. And scarfing down bottles and bottles of ice cold water. Remember...the heat.
Summer time means sparkles. Fireworks. Freedom. It's a time for us to celebrate this country and all the freedoms that at times we take for granted.
Summer time means carnivals. Crazy rides that scare you to death. Food that.. well.. scares you to death, yet tastes so good. And laughter and smiles all across the board.

Summer time. It's the season that makes me smile the most, and the season that also goes by the fastest. The season that I am always anxious to say hello to every year, and yet, one that I'm ready to say goodbye to come August.

Something else we will be saying goodbye to soon? Andrew's car. It's been good to us, but time for a change. Something new, something fun, something that makes me want to eat ice cream and cruise around with the windows down. Like summer time.

We've been looking at the Kia and have loved what we have seen and read. We are looking to test drive in the next few months. Right around fall time.... oh fall.

By then, I'll have a list of what fall means to me. And maybe what a new car means as well.

I'm ready.

I was selected for this opportunity as a member of Clever Girls Collective and the content and opinions expressed here are all my own.